I’d be humbled if you’d try this crumble…

Our little blog that could has taught me so many things since its inception, but one thing that has proven to be invaluable is the fact that apparently, I can bake. (Who knew? See here and here for examples!) When I started undertaking baking tasks in the kitchen, both my mother and grandmother laughed at me/each other, asking each other where I could have possibly gotten this knack from…since it clearly wasn’t from either of them. Nonetheless, my dabbling in the kitchen has once again paid off, with a desert that has gotten rave reviews from the lucky nuts who were around to try it, and some valuable nutshell correspondents.. A blackberry-apply crumble. YUM.

Ingredients:

  • 10 average size Apples (I used McIntosh)
  • 1 pint of Blackberries (I used Driscoll’s which came by the half pint)
  • Butter or Margerine
  • Cinnamon
  • Brown Sugar
  • Oats (I used Robin Hood’s ‘easy oats’ brand)

The best part about this recipe is that you don’t have  to be too prudent with the measurements. You can use these as a starting point and add more depending on how the mixture is looking!

Directions:

1. Peel apples, de-core, and chop into small pieces. (This is the most tedious part of  the recipe! After this, it’s so easy, I promise!)
2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together 1 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon.
3. Mix in chopped apples and whole blackberries.
4. Add 1/4 cup of butter or margerine and mix everything together until you get an evenly dispersed mixture.
5. Scoop mixture into a pyrex dish and evenely disperse it.
6. Add a light layer of oats on the top for extra crispiness (if desired).
7. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

Crumble mix, pre-baking.

Post-baking deliciousness!

The perfect serving. YUM.

Voila! This recipe is actually so delicious and toward the healthy side of the spectrum (the desert spectrum, that is). The blackberries add the perfect amount of tartness to this sweet treat and since it’s so simple to make, it makes the perfect desert for your next dinner party, potluck, or in our case, Bachelor viewing party! Happy baking nuts!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , by Meghan Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Meghan Brown

Meghan is inanutshell’s contributor who has a lot of different interests and a strong (and humorous) opinion. As a Martha Stewart wanna-be, you can expect lots of delicious recipes, DIY projects and organization tips from her. A lover of pop culture and anything buzzworthy, you can count on her to write about things that she's currently obsessing over and provide colour commentary on a variety of topics. Bad Habit: Reformed (still working on it) Nail Biter/ Favourite Food: Mashed Potatoes / Favourite Restaurant: El Camino / Wine of Choice: Riesling / Favorite Song: Don’t Stop Believing / Favourite Music Genre: Everything, but rap & hip hop have my heart / Favorite Movie: It’s A Wonderful Life / Favorite TV Series: Grey’s Anatomy or Friends/ Favourite Sport: Hockey / Favourite Team: Toronto Maple Leafs and Ottawa Senators / Blackberry or iPhone: iPhone / Favorite Book: Lolita /

2 thoughts on “I’d be humbled if you’d try this crumble…

  1. Pingback: The Bachelor Recap: Episode 10 – TWTA .. The bad kind of nuts. | in a nutshell.ca

  2. I know I respond to a lot of these blogs….but this one just takes the “cake” and I had to reply! I admit that I do NOT have a love of the kitchen most times, let alone to bake…..where my beautiful daughter got this must come from other genes in our family…..not from me for sure! WOW Meghan, I have a request, next dinner I cook, YOU get to bring the desert :0)….
    xo Mom

Leave a comment...

