What We’re Nuts for Nowadays

As some of you may know, I recently spent a few sensational months in Europe. While I was away, my fellow nuts compensated for the absence of one less writer-on-duty with heavier workloads and fresh ideas. No matter where I was, from Budapest, Paris or Slovenia, I sought out internet cafés, wi-fi areas and hostel computers, with the intention of first and foremost, checking out what my girls were posting on in a nutshell. One of the posts I wished I had been apart of was “Obsessing over….“, a piece where the girls documented just what they were fixated on that month. So, in an effort to bring this great idea back to life, here are some things we’re currently nuts about – adding to the usual pile of obsessions like Ben Flajnik, Gregory David Roberts’ Shantaram, Lana Del Rey’s album release…oh, and this little blog we cherish dearly.

Meghan
Obsession: Essie’s Mink Muffs Nail Polish
I was looking for a nail polish colour that could easily transition from day to night and I’ve found it in Essie’s Mink Muffs. Not only is the name hilarious, but I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it over the past week and a half. Depending on the light, it looks like mocha or a dull, deep purple. It almost acts as two seperate polishes and is really good quality. I know I’m going to have to switch up the colour soon, but for now I’m obsessed!

Jess
Obsession: M.I.A.’s “Bad Girls”
The freshly leaked digital single from everyone’s favourite neon-clad, sharp-witted British emcee is absolutely off the hook. A catchy comeback to pick up where she left off after a critically-acclaimed three album jumpstart is exactly what I expected out of the radical rap princess, and you can find more on her recent mix tape and inevitably her upcoming summer release. Although skipping out on lyrical complexity with this cheeky return to the ranks, M.I.A. still rules the speakers with a whopping beat and hotshot lyrics (“Live fast, die young, bad girls do it well”) that deserve their own set of diamond-studded grills and some low-swinging swagger. Swagger like hers, you might even say.


Catherine
Obsession: Mink Oil
If my life was a novel, the January 2012 chapter could be called “Catherine’s Crazy Quest for Boots”. Seriously, you’d think it’d be easier to find some functional knee-high boots, appropriate for both the office and a night on the town. But, after instantly ruining my Aldo black suede booties with salt (unavoidable!) I sulked into Verona shoes and was pointed in the direction of a grey leather boots, that I LOVE and more importantly, mink oil which is my obsession du jour. It’s seriously the best product I’ve purchased ($ 100 in shampoos, protectors and cleaners later) and has left my new kicks looking pristine. On sale for only $6 it works on all types of footwear. I lather them up once a week and it does the trick. For any Canadian female, that must inevitably trudge to work, school, social engagements, etc, through mounds of aggravating snow, this is a must have.

Kate
Obsession: “SOMM” Trailer/Film Release
When Jess first brought my attention to this video I was, in a sense, star struck. Not because anyone famous is making a cameo in this wine documentary, but because the world of wine is made out to be a celebrity in itself. This documentary, entitled “SOMM” by Forgotten Man Films, looks so cool! It follows 4 men who are attempting to pass the Master Sommelier exam. Imagine a Masters program that, over the last 40 years, has seen only 170 people succeed. I’ve since shared this clip with anyone who will listen and plan to be the first in line at the box office.

Kaylee
Obsession: Breaking Bad
Lately I’ve had plenty of time on my hands, so I’ve taken to watching new TV series’ on Netflix (don’t judge – I do other productive things, I swear). After some browsing and giving up on several attempts at loving other critically-acclaimed shows (ahem…Mad Men), I finally found my knight and shining armor, the series that can do no wrong in my books – Breaking Bad. If you’ve never heard of it, even the simple gist of the show will leave you intrigued. Bryan Cranston (the dad from Malcom in the Middle who plays a totally different character here) is a high school Chemistry teacher who discovers he has lung cancer. Realizing he’ll leave his family with little money to survive with, he decides to do the only plausible thing…start making Meth. The story unfolds as he learns about distribution, competition with the Drug Cartels, how to launder money…all the while under the nose of his good friend and brother-in-law who is a DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) agent. In a nutshell, watching just one episode of this show will have you wondering what’s to come, and the cherry on top? The acting is impeccable and no matter how serious the subject matter, you’ll laugh along with the irony of it all and the scenarios these characters find themselves in. Here’s just a bit of what Season 1 entails:

Leave a comment...

