Monday Movie Music Moment

My obsession with all things words certainly formed at a very young age, with my first bit of written work being three shabby pieces of crayon-filled paper stapled together, bearing the title “The Wyld Prty”. I was four, so certainly the party I wrote about wasn’t all that “wyld”. But, the bottom line is that from a toddler age there wasn’t much else I wanted to do with my free time.

So, I filled my time reading and scribbling away as a kid, even forming an unlikely obsession with a playwright light-years above my skill level and eras before my time – Mr. Billy Shakespeare. I can only imagine my parents confusion when their 7-year-old insisted on ordering Shakespeare plays from the elementary school’s monthly book order. I probably didn’t understand half of what I was reading, but deciphering some of the greatest written word of all time – the prose, romance, flowery language and medieval eloquence – was something I took an interest in.

Needless to say, when the live modernized version of Shakespeare’s famous play Romeo + Juliet was released in 1996 – featuring two of the most up-and-coming actors on the scene – I was adamant on seeing it right away. Of course, this led to a whole new level of obsession forming; not only with the two budding actors, but with the meaning behind the famous piece of literature I had struggled through before. After seeing it, I suddenly understood, had fully hopped on the Leo DiCaprio train, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on more Shakespeare….and more of the soundtrack.

I bought it right away. As the perfect companion to the trendy re-enactment, the soundtrack is packed with grungy late 1990s alternative hits – a compilation that perfectly accompanies the fashionably strange Baz Luhrman style of filmmaking. The obscure tunes and equally quirky cinematic twists on Will Shakespeare’s tragic love story go hand-in-hand throughout the film, with this moment in particular being impossibly perfect. Des’ree, a soul and R&B singer made popular in the mid-90s, lends her epic heartfelt ballad “Kissing You” to the famous “fish tank” scene, when the two star-crossed lovers first set eyes on each other and the chaos of their whirlwind love and misfortune begins. Enjoy! (The 8 year-old in me, who used to rewind this scene until the tape wore down, is swooning to this).

 

This entry was posted in Movie Moments, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , by Jess Huddleston. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jess Huddleston

Jess (@JessHuddles) is the music mama and song savvy nut of in a nutshell. Since she was young, Jess has noticed new acts, harassed people to find out what tune is playing and asked everyone to repeat themselves because she's plugged in. After completing a journalism degree at Carleton University, Jess stepped into the world of communications, music publicity and magazine writing, while still making time each day to share sounds. Although this funny gal also has a strong passion for fashion and all things pop culture, you're most likely to hear her rave that a particular song or album will "change your life." * Bad Habit: Smart Food. * Favourite Food: Avocado everything. * Favourite Restaurant: La Carnita. * Wine of Choice: Merlot. * Favourite Band/Artist(s): The Boss, Ryan Adams, The Walkmen, Band of Horses. * Favourite Song: All Springsteen songs, "Sweet Thing" by Van Morrison, “Bennie and the Jets" by Elton John, "I Go To The Barn" by Band of Horses and "Try a Little Tenderness" by Otis Redding. * Fashion Icon: Emily Weiss. * Favourite Movie: Only You, Forrest Gump, The Departed. * TV series: Breaking Bad or Friends. * Sport: Basketball and Soccer. * Team: Duke... but, realistically, Florida. * Blackberry or Iphone: iPhone. * Favourite Books: The Great Gatsby, A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and all Kerouac.

2 thoughts on “Monday Movie Music Moment

  1. I love that you were obsessed with this movie as well. I could recite the entire film, word for word. I watched it again recently, and it turns out I still knew every line haha.

Leave a comment...

