Confessions Of A Bookworm

Sadly, I am nearing the end of a short period of time off of work. Despite my bigger summer bucket list that I shared with you all, I had a few personal goals for this stretch of vacation. Relaxation and contemplation was on the forefront and I made sure to make one of my very favourite activities a priority – reading.

I am the proclaimed “party girl” of inanutshell but true to my Gemini self, on the nights when I’m not traipsing around the market you can find me quite oppositely snuggled up with a good book perfectly content, peacefully raptured.

A true nerd at heart – I am okay with it.

So while I take my inanutshell responsibility of keeping my pulse on the social and exciting I’ve decided it’s time to introduce a “Book of the Month” feature for all my like-minded nerdy souls out there.

I have already once mentioned that my favourite Sunday of the month is when I meet with some good friends /some of the most intelligent women I know, for wine, laughs and our rowdy book club. Here’s where I’ll be getting most of the ammo for my posts as our choice read is almost always a win.

This Month’s Book: Freedom – by: Jonathan Franzen

This book got mixed reviews from the club, but I LOVED it. Forget the actual specifics of the plot this fictional novel is for anyone who finds human psychology interesting. The story primarily follows Patty Berglund, through the various stages of her life but switches views throughout the rest of her family members. It details Patty’s background prefacing the point in her life where she must decide between the safe bet or the exciting guy who will never give her what she wants, except for what the other man lacks. It tracks her different and complicated relationships with her two children, Joey and Jessica. One, an intellectual star who is in many ways far more mature than her parents, and one a rebel who does whatever he can to set himself apart from his family. The book takes you through the complication of marriage and what happens on both ends when things start to go wrong. Of course there it a lot more to it than that and Franzen weaves in some political undertones, which remain unclear to me as to if they are his own views or simply another fictional element. The ramblings do become a little long in parts which is where some of my fellow bookclubbers were lost but it’s worth getting through them for the bigger picture that Franzen paints. Where I think this novel hits a homerun is in showing human weakness and triumph in such an honest and compassionate way. No one is perfect and everyone makes mistakes, has secrets and endures heartbreak. This is the second best seller from Franzen who’s an American novelist and essayist. Following controversy surrounding his third novel The Corrections (also a family drama) Freedom is a fairly new book released only a year ago in August 2010. The drawback, it is a little long  – 562 pages of long with type smaller than this. It took me two full months (breaking our one month book club rule) to get through it. Lugging the hardcover in my purse everywhere I went in case I had a few spare moments to read a page or two was at times a little painful, but worth every extra handbag pound and afternoon lost in Starbucks … in a nutshell.


Other suggested reads that may or may not be blogged about in the near or distant future (all courtesy of book club!):

The Bishop’s Man – Linden MacIntyre
Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
Little Bee – Chris Cleave

This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by Catherine Kitts. Bookmark the permalink.

About Catherine Kitts

Catherine (@catkitts) has been known to put her party dress on at the drop of a hat and will rarely say no to a new adventure. After completing her Bachelor of Journalism at Carleton University, she worked at the editor of a local newspaper for three years before trading hard news for the world of communications, marketing and advertising. Constantly juggling hectic work and social schedules, she always makes time for some of her biggest passions: news, sports, pop culture, cuisine, literature and many others. You can expect her to cover a wide variety of topics, keeping her finger on the pulse of Ottawa, her hometown - a city she's grown to love. *Bad Habit: never wanting to miss out *Favourite Food: pickles *Favourite Restaurant: El Camino *Wine of Choice: whatever Kate is drinking *Favourite Band: (solo artist?) Justin Timberlake *Favourite Song: Dancing in the Dark - Springsteen *Fashion Icon: Lauren Conrad *Political Affiliation: none *Favourite Movie: Back to the Future, Kindergarden Cop, Jurassic Park, Drive. *TV Series: Seinfeld *Sport: Hockey / Football *Team: Ottawa Senators / Seattle Seahawks *Favorite Book: Great Expectations - Charles Dickens, Freedom - Jonathan Franzen. ** To contact Catherine write her at : inanutshellca@gmail.com

One thought on “Confessions Of A Bookworm

  1. I found it so interesting that you were reading this book…. I have chosen it as a book club selection for September (to give extra reading time). I am already getting hate mail. But I thought it was good for the same reasons as you did – an interesting look at society today from a psycho/socio angle. As for lugging around this tombe I am reading it on a iPhone with the Kindle app – highly recommend this format.

Leave a comment...

