This is it: Farewell to The Oprah Show

These nuts will miss you, O.

**By Meghan**

We wouldn’t be a legitimate blog for women if we didn’t pay homage to the woman who has inspired millions of people, broken down race, class and gender lines, and embodied what it means to be a strong and successful woman. Of course, I’m talking about Oprah Winfrey.

It’s impossible to summarize just how amazing she is. But for the past 25 years she has given so much happiness and hope to her viewers, focusing on making the world a more tolerant and accepting place. Her countless charitable efforts have undoubtedly changed the lives of so many people, and have inspired her viewers to carry on in her footsteps.

With her farewell episode airing tonight, it kind of feels like the rapture is actually happening. A world without Oprah on TV every weekday is a world that I am nervous to be a part of…

In order to celebrate and commemorate the big O, check out this hilarious video of Ms. Winfrey’s 25 years of yelling (one of her qualities that I, personally, will miss the most!)

**By Kaylee**

It’s been a running joke since my teenage years that I begin a few too many sentences with “Well, this one time on Oprah…” The fact of the matter is that the content of her shows have taught me so many lessons and given me so many stories, that I feel the need to share them with others. Whether it’s a pregnant man, a celebrity interview or a new book club addition, Oprah always has something important to convey to her viewers.

I’ve encountered many haters in my day, and I would dare any of them to watch just one of Oprah’s shows. Watching hurricane victims in New Orleans get new houses, audiences of teachers get new school supplies or one suffering family win a quarter of a million dollars, warms the heart of any viewer; male, female, old or young.

Oprah is an inspiration to millions of women and men across the globe, she has moved her viewers to donate their time and money to countless charities and to believe that they have the power and that they are enough.

Oprah is a true legend, and I’m proud to say I’ve been watching her show for more than a decade. I can’t believe it’s over, but I can safely say that my PVR is already set to record almost every show on OWN (The Oprah Winfrey Network, if you’ve been living under a rock).

The laughs and life lessons felt through the Oprah Show will live on through each of her viewers and all I can say, is that she will be missed …in a nutshell.

Leave a comment...

